Private and Shared channels in Teams now support Planner plans

Channel members can now add a new Planner plan to Private and Shared Teams channels. Members can plan and track work in the same channel where the team is already collaborating, rather than in a separate app or tab elsewhere. This can be especially useful for channels that include people from outside the usual team membership, such as guests (in Private channels) or contacts from other organizations (in Shared channels).

Previously, a Planner plan was available in Standard channels. If members of a Private or Shared channel wanted to work on a Planner plan, they had to create a new Microsoft 365 group just for that plan.

Within a Private or Shared channel, channel members can now select the plus icon to add a new tab, then choose Planner.

Add the Planner app to a Private or Shared channel
Add the Planner app to a Private or Shared channel

They can create a new plan for the channel or attach an existing plan already associated with the channel.
Currently, these plans support Planner Basic features. Planner Premium capabilities should be introduced later.

Create a new plan or attach an existing plan already associated with the channel
Create a new plan or attach an existing plan already associated with the channel

A Microsoft Graph check confirms the plan is directly associated with the Teams channel.
If users add attachments to a task, they are uploaded to the document library of the SharePoint channel site. Members can also attach existing channel files.

The plan is associated with the channel
The plan is associated with the channel

I was interested in what happens with the plan if someone deletes and restores the Private or Shared channel. Theoretically, as the plan is directly associated, it should be deleted too.

  • The Private or Shared channel is deleted
    The plan is also deleted, unfortunately with a generic, group-related message.
The plan is deleted if someone deletes the channel
The plan is deleted if someone deletes the channel
  • The Private or Shared channel is restored within 30 days
    Teams also restores all associated plans within 60 minutes. Be patient, as the system needs time to restore the plans.

Planner in Private and Shared channels is available to all users with a Planner and Microsoft Teams service plan.

Note:
Planner plans for Private and Shared channels are still in rollout. The plans may not yet be available in Teams Web, although they are available in the Teams desktop app.

Avatar photo

Tobias Asböck

Tobias is a Senior System Engineer with more than 10 years of professional experience with Microsoft 365 products such as SharePoint Online, SharePoint Premium, OneDrive for Business, Teams Collaboration, Entra ID, Information Protection, Universal Print, and Microsoft 365 Licensing. He also has 15+ years of experience planning, administering, and operating SharePoint Server environments. Tobias is a PowerShell Scripter with certifications for Microsoft 365 products. In his spare time, Tobias is busy with updates in the Microsoft 365 world or on the road with his road bike and other sports activities. If you have additional questions, please contact me via LinkedIn or [email protected].

Leave a Comment